Being Wrong by Kathryn Schulz – Productivity Book Group

Play

Being Wrong by Kathryn Schulz - Productivity Book Group

Being Wrong: Adventures in the Margin of Error [ https://amzn.to/2AnAgr0 ] by Kathryn Schulz.

Dr. Frank Buck, the author of Get Organized! Time Management for School Leaders https://amzn.to/2V2H8RL ], and regular speaker on time management, joins me as usual to discuss this summary-review episode on Productivity Book Group.

About the Author (her website)

Kathryn Schulz is a staff writer at The New Yorker. She won the 2015 Pulitzer Prize in Feature Writing and a National Magazine Award for her article on seismic risk in the Pacific Northwest, “The Really Big One,” which was anthologized in The Best American Science and Nature Writing and The Best American Magazine Writing. Prior to joining The New Yorker, she was the book critic for New York Magazine; her writing has also appeared in The New York Times Magazine, Rolling Stone, TIME, Foreign Policy, and the New York Times Book Review, among other publications. She is the former editor of the environmental magazine Grist, and a former reporter and editor for The Santiago Times, of Santiago, Chile. She was a 2004 recipient of the Pew Fellowship in International Journalism (now the International Reporting Project), and has reported from Central and South America, Japan, and the Middle East. A graduate of Brown University and a former Ohioan, Oregonian, and Brooklynite, she currently divides her time between the Eastern Shore of Maryland and New York’s Hudson Valley.

About the Book (from Amazon)

In the tradition of The Wisdom of Crowds and Predictably Irrational comes Being Wrong, an illuminating exploration of what it means to be in error, and why homo sapiens tend to tacitly assume (or loudly insist) that they are right about most everything. Kathryn Schulz, editor of Grist magazine, argues that error is the fundamental human condition and should be celebrated as such. Guiding the reader through the history and psychology of error, from Socrates to Alan Greenspan, Being Wrong will change the way you perceive screw-ups, both of the mammoth and daily variety, forever.

Our next reading selections

Show Notes/Quotations

(Please listen to understand the context of the resources provided. If we missed something, please comment on the episode and let us know!)

The Invisible Gorilla by Christopher Chablis and Daniel Simons

Learning How to Learn

The Checklist Manifesto by Atul Gawande, MD

Expert accused of ‘millennial bashing’ says the generation is under TOO much pressure to succeed – and reveals why they think they deserve a promotion after a year in their first job

Please visit ProductivityBookGroup.org and find out the details and the schedule for upcoming book discussion calls; check out the schedule on the “Upcoming Books” page.

Please feel free to visit Apple Podcasts / iTunes, Stitcher, Google Podcasts, or whichever podcast directory or app you prefer to access Productivity Book Group…and subscribe. Also, please feel free to review us on Apple Podcasts, or Stitcher! This helps expand our readership and bring new discussion callers into the fold. Thank you.

Thanks again to Dr. Frank Buck for joining me here on Productivity Book Group.

We have a digital community where we can discuss the books we’re reading, share new book and article recommendations, and ask questions of our fellow book lovers. You can access it on the Web, as well as via Android and iOS apps, and we’re very excited to have you join us there. Please visit http://productivitybookgroup.org/community and you will be taken to the new digital community to join. See you there!

Finally, all podcast episodes are archived at ProductivityBookGroup.org under “Episodes” so if you missed a call and want to review it, feel free to head over and give them a listen.

And with that, thanks, everyone, for listening to Productivity Book Group.

I’m Ray Sidney-Smith. Here’s to your productive life!


Note: All registered service marks, trademarks and other copyrighted materials mentioned on the podcast are that of their respective owners. This group is not affiliated with or officially endorsed by those copyright owners.

FTC Disclosure: We may earn money or credits from the companies mentioned in this post by clicking on links for items or services you purchase.


Please comment and join the productivity conversation!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: